Featured Employee: Tanya Datsko


Tanya Datsko

Tanya Datsko is a financial analyst with APCOM, A. O. Smith’s parts division in Franklin, Tennessee. She is responsible for production and maintenance orders and for pricing all materials and parts. She moved to Tennessee from Ukraine in May 2013 so she and her husband could live closer to their daughter, and joined A. O. Smith in June 2015.

Get to know Tanya…

Q: Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Ukraine.

Q: How did you end up in Tennessee?

My daughter went to school in Tennessee and met her husband in Nashville. Since she is our only child, we started visiting Nashville every couple of years. After 10 years of being so far away from each other, my husband and I decided to move to Tennessee to be closer to our children.

Q: What is your favorite thing about living in the United States? What do you miss most about your home country?

I like how friendly and open people are in the United States. I also like that the United States is a cultural melting pot – you can meet people from different countries and cultures. It is a country that allows you plenty of opportunities to succeed and make your dreams a reality. From Ukraine, I miss my family and friends the most.

Q: What is your favorite place that you have either lived or visited? Why?

Prague, Czech Republic. It is a beautiful historic city with amazing culture and heritage; you cannot help but fall in love with the architecture and history. Prague opened one of the first universities in Europe in 9 A.D. It is amazing to see how many historical documents are preserved from those times. Every cobble stone street you turn on has a rich historical value. There are cathedrals, churches, museums, statues of saints and beautiful bridges over Vltava.Tanya Datsko

Q: What is your proudest achievement?

I have to say I am proudest of moving half way across the world, adapting to a new culture and getting back into my field of work in a totally different country.

Q: What is a little known fact about you?

I am a professional volleyball player and traveled with a team from age 13 to 21. I finished my career early because my priorities changed when I got married and had my daughter.

Q: What do you do for fun?

I enjoy cooking and traveling. I also like to be active, so I am always up for playing volleyball, badminton and any outdoor game. I also like playing card games – sometimes we invite our children or friends over to play a game of poker.

Q: Would you say that you have had an aha moment in your life? If yes, would you mind sharing?

I have had several aha moments, but I hope the best one is yet to come. You never know what could be waiting for you around the corner.

Q: What is the best advice you have ever received?

I would have to say the best advice I received was from my mother-in-law who suggested I get a degree in accounting. My first degree was in chemical engineering, but when I met my mother-in-law, and she had a chance to get to know my skills and personality, she said I would make a great accountant. Looking back, I am very grateful and glad I followed her advice. I had a successful career in Ukraine and was able to stay in the field of finance after moving to the United States.

Q: What is your motivation?

I am very persistent in achieving my goals and am constantly growing. I love learning new things and taking on new challenges; I would say this is a part of my personality. I am naturally motivated; I rarely have to push myself to be motivated. Being an achiever, I always look for opportunities to do more and do better.